Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday afternoon, I went to sing hymns at a nursing home with a group from my church, and sang Amazing Grace solo.  This was my second time singing alone for church (the first time was three days ago, on Valentine’s Day), and I was terrified to begin, but once I got started, it wasn’t about me anymore; it was about reaching people and glorifying God.  We had an excellent short sermon on forgiveness.  The service went pretty well, and was made more interesting by the resident who appointed himself our new pianist near the end and accompanied us by bashing his fists forcefully on the piano keys.  The other, less lively residents sat in their chairs and listened, and have to say I was impressed by the number of people who showed up.  I am very much looking forward to doing it again.

